

For Immediate Release

Contact:
Natalie Wagner, Executive Director
Connecticut Bar Foundation
860-722-2494
natalie@cbf-1.org

April 15, 2021

CONNECTICUT BAR FOUNDATION: ELECTS OFFICERS AND NEW BOARD MEMBERS, THANKS DEPARTING BOARD MEMBERS FOR THEIR YEARS OF DEDICATED SERVICE

The Connecticut Bar Foundation Board of Directors re-elected Attorney Timothy A. Diemand of Madison, CT, to serve as its 21st president at its Annual Meeting held on April 6, 2021.

Mr. Diemand is a Partner in Wiggin and Dana's Litigation Department and a member of the firm's Executive Committee. He has been recognized by *Chambers USA* in the Commercial Litigation category, and recognized by *Benchmark Litigation* in its Litigation Stars category. In 2017, Diemand was named one of the *Connecticut Law Tribune's* Distinguished Leaders. Attorney Diemand was first elected President of the Foundation in 2020.

Also re-elected as officers were Vanessa Roberts Avery as Vice President and Stephen L. Lewis as Treasurer.

Vanessa Roberts Avery is the Associate Attorney General for Enforcement, Litigation, and Investigations at the Connecticut Attorney General's Office. She manages all aspects of civil enforcement by the office, including multi-district litigation and investigations involving consumer protection, the opioid epidemic, antitrust, fraud, the Affordable Care Act, reproductive rights, immigration and environmental law, as well as child protection, collections, child support, and other cases pending locally. Prior to joining the AGO, she was an Assistant United States Attorney in the Civil Division of the United States Attorney's Office, District of Connecticut. Her extensive service outside the office includes an appointment to the Local Civil Rules Advisory Committee for the U.S. District Court, District of Connecticut, the CBA Policing Task Force, and the Advisory Board of the George W. Crawford Black Bar Association, where she is a past President. She is a graduate of Yale University and the Georgetown University Law Center.

Stephen L. Lewis is the President and Chief Executive Officer of Thomaston Savings Bank. He also serves on the Connecticut Bankers Association's Executive Committee. He previously served on the Connecticut Business and Industry Association's Board of Directors, the American Bankers Association's Government Relations Committee, the Central Connecticut Chamber of Commerce's Board of Directors, and the Waterbury United Way's Campaign Leadership Council. He is a graduate of Villanova University and the University of Connecticut.

The Connecticut Bar Foundation is pleased to welcome the following new members to its Board of Directors for 2021-2022:

Arthur T. Corey is the Vice President and General Counsel for the Connecticut Bankers Association. Previously he was Counsel for Hinckley, Allen & Snyder LLP, and CEO and General Counsel for the Connecticut Credit Union Association, Inc.

Karen DeMeola is the Assistant Dean for Finance, Administration, and Enrollment for the University of Connecticut School of Law. Among her many honors and awards, DeMeola was named Attorney of the Year (2019) by the Connecticut Law Tribute and a recipient of the Lawyers Collaborative for Diversity Edwin Archer Randolph Diversity Award. In 2020, the Connecticut Bar Association established the Karen Lynn DeMeola Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion Fund in honor of her important work as a champion of diversity and equal rights within the Connecticut legal community. DeMeola is a past president of the Connecticut Bar Association and currently serves on the Board of the Connecticut Legal Rights Project, the Connecticut Women's Education and Legal Fund, the National LGBT+ Bar Association, and the Governor's Commission on Women and Girls STEAM Subcommittee. She is an Emeritus Board Member for Family Equality.

Sonia Pedraza is Senior Counsel for Travelers. Prior to this, she was an Associate with Shipman & Goodwin LLP. Ms. Pedraza also serves as a member of the Board of Directors for the Connecticut Hispanic Bar Association.

Hon. Robert Richardson is a Magistrate Judge with the United States District Court. Prior to this, he was a Partner at Garrison, Levin-Epstein, Richardson, Fitzgerald & Pirrotti, PC. Judge Richardson is a member of the American College of Trial Lawyers, a member of the Hartford Inn of Court, and vice president of the National Employment Lawyers Association. He is also a former member of the U.S. District Court's Federal Grievance Committee, the Connecticut Bar Association's Multi-Jurisdictional Task Force, a Federal Magistrate Review Panel, and the Connecticut Bar Associations Professional Ethics Committee.

The Connecticut Bar Foundation is grateful for the many years of dedicated service provided by the following departing Board Members: Hon. William H. Bright, Connecticut Appellate Court; Hon. Janet C. Hall, United States District Court for the District of Connecticut; Krista Hess, Connecticut Judicial Branch; Attorney Denise Zamore, UnitedHealthcare; and Attorney James T. Shearin, Pullman & Comley. Attorney Shearin also served as the President of the Foundation from 2015-2018.

The following individuals were re-elected to the Board of Directors for 2021-2022:

Hon. Barry F. Armata, Superior Court of Connecticut
Andrea Barton Reeves, Connecticut Paid Family and Medical Leave Insurance Authority
Margaret I. Castinado, State of Connecticut, Division of Public Defender Services
Victoria Woodin Chavey, Jackson Lewis PC
Edward J. Heath, Robinson+Cole LLP
Charles L. Howard, International Ombudsman Association
Joette Katz, Shipman & Goodwin, LLP
Anika Singh Lemar, Yale Law School
Hon. Cesar Noble, Superior Court of Connecticut
Moy N. Ogilvie, McCarter & English, LLP
Franklin E. Perry II, State of Connecticut House Democrats Office
Namita Shah, Day Pitney LLP
Isabella Squicciarini, Allied World Assurance Company, Ltd.
Calvin K. Woo, Verrill

The Ex-Officio Directors of the Board are Dean Jennifer Brown, Quinnipiac University School of Law, Hon. Juliett Crawford, Chair, Connecticut Bar Foundation James W. Cooper Fellows, Dean Heather K. Gerken, Yale Law School, Dean Eboni S. Nelson, University of Connecticut School of Law, Hon. Richard A. Robinson, Chief Justice, Connecticut Supreme Court, and Keith J. Soressi, Executive Director, Connecticut Bar Association, who also serves ex-officio as the Secretary of the Connecticut Bar Foundation Board of Directors.

The Directors Emeriti are Professor Joseph D. D'Alesio, Alex Lloyd, William Logue, and Frederic S. Ury.

The Connecticut Bar Foundation is a philanthropic organization that develops and administers programs to enhance the understanding and improvement of the law and legal institutions, and it sponsors educational symposia. The CBF administers several programs, including the Interest on Lawyers' Trust Accounts (IOLTA) and the Interest on Trust Accounts (IOTA) programs that provide funds for the delivery of legal services for the poor. Also, the CBF administers the Judicial Branch Grants-in-Aid and the Court Fees Grants-in-Aid programs for legal services and for law school scholarships for disadvantaged students attending schools in Connecticut.
